May 27, 2007

For Fans of Anne

Pin It


Many of the readers of this blog have said how much they enjoy the Anne of Green Gables series. While web surfing, I found some Anne related items. Next year marks the 100th anniversary of the publication of Anne of Green Gables. The L.M. Montgomery Institute has a great website here with information on what they have planned for 2008. I recommend checking this site out, it's full of Anne related items. Penguin books plans on releasing 3 new Anne books in 2008: 100th anniversary edition of Anne of Green Gables, Before Green Gables and Imagining Anne: the Scrapbooks of L.M. Montgomery. Read all about these by following the link on the Institute site.


At the same time, the L.M. Montgomery Institute is finding itself in financial trouble according to this CBC News article.


This year's L.M. Montgomery Festival is scheduled for July 13-15 in Cavendish, PEI of course. This would be a great time to plan a trip to Prince Edward Island.


Finally, if you can't make it to the Island to see the sites you can take a virtual tour of Green Gables on the Prince Edward Island tourism page. The Green Gables House is based on the descriptions from the series. But that's nothing compared to seeing the real thing!

8 comments :

  1. Sad but true: I've never read this series, and I couldn't tell you why.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Many bloggers, including WW participants, will be flying Peace Globes in the blogosphere on Wednesday, June 6, 2007. It is BlogBlast for Peace day - the second annual event. Please consider using your Wordless Wednesday platforms on this day to participate. You can find more information about the movement at Mimi Writes or BlogBlast for Peace
    http://mimiwrites.blogspot.com or http://mimilenox.blogspot.com

    Thanks and peace!
    Mimi

    ReplyDelete
  3. I still have fond memories of visiting PEI and all things Anne one summer vacation many many years ago.

    ReplyDelete
  4. The idea of a prequel kind of worries me. It's not a very Montgomery-ish story to tell, since unless it overlaps with the beginning of Anne of Green Gables, it can't even have a happy ending.

    The other stuff is interesting, though...I can't wait to see what the anniversary edition looks like.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Nice write up, Chris. I hope there is a lot of hoopla for the 100th anniversary. I plan to see the Anne and Gilbert musical this summer - it's the third year I think, and is very popular.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I have never read this series and I feel like I'm missing out. I should one of these days.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I loved Anne when I was a kid, and now my daughter loves her, too. I took her into New York City to see an off Broadway production of Anne of Green Gables the Musical in the Village; it was great, really well done, faithful to the book. Someday definitely want to get to PEI.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I loved the movies when I was little and would love to go to PEI (I see you're reading "Fall On Your Knees" which takes place just around the corner). I do remember driving by Montgomery's house (in Ontario) when I was little and feeling oh-so-special that I had seen it.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for visiting! Please leave a comment. I've disabled Anonymous comments since I've had a barrage of Anon spam lately. Sorry about that.